Field Directors

communities_1.jpg
 View Only
  • 1.  Rolling Practicum

Posted Feb 14, 2024 14:47

I'm 6 months into my role as a Practicum Director in an abolitionist-focused program.

We are looking to change from a Spring practicum start to a rolling-basis practicum.

For programs that currently accept students into practicum on a rolling basis, how does this work? What is your load as far as classes? What caps do you have on practicum seminars and/or supervisory groups, if you have them? How many other courses do you teach on top of practicum?

Thank you,

------------------------------
    Desiree Israel
    MSW Practicum Director
    Alverno College
    Milwaukee WI

• 2.  RE: Rolling Practicum

Posted Feb 15, 2024 12:07

Hi Desiree:

I've been doing rolling admissions since 2014.  A few things I learned, we limited BSW to four times yearly, 2X in Fall (Fall I and 2) and twice in Summer (Summer 1 and 2).  We are a tri-semester system, with 8 week sessions each trimester.  We do not place BSW student in the Spring trimester. We place our traditional MSW students in Fall 1 and Summer 1 only.  And we place Advanced Standing and 2nd year MSW during Fall 1, Spring 1 and Summer 1 only.  We negotiated this with the Dean and admissions because the rolling admissions had us stressed to the max every term trying to place students constantly. 

Our MSW program has in excess of 1200 students and our BSW program has 500+ students so we are a large program.

To your other questions: 

Load for the director - I have full course load releases and no longer teach courses unless I volunteer.  The administrative side became too demanding and I negotiated with the dean to either be an administrator or a course instructor, but I couldn't do both well.  Luckily my Dean and Provost agreed.  I also no longer do placement activities, as the demands of overseeing the field division require all of my time and attention.