Field Directors

communities_1.jpg
 View Only
  • 1.  Matching

Posted Aug 30, 2022 15:43
    Hi all!

I am new to this space and my role as Field Director. My office is in need of a more efficient and practical way of "matching" students to field agencies. For context, in any given semester we have approximately 700 students in field across our BSW and MSW programs. Please share the method that your Office uses to "match" students to a field site. I am curious of what happens on the back end for a Field Office comparable in size to mine. Thank you!

------------------------------
    Shenita Williams
    Director of Field Education

• 2.  RE: Matching

Posted Aug 31, 2022 12:12
    Welcome. We allow students to list 5 agency choices on their field application. This gives our placement coordinators a sense of what area of practice the student is interested in. If the choices are not available, the team will find a similar type of setting for the student. At Ohio State, we match around 1000 BSSW and MSW field students in Ohio and across the country in our online MSW program.

Take care,
    Katie

Katie Klakos
    Director of Field Education
    The Ohio State University College of Social Work
    Columbus OH

• 3.  RE: Matching

Posted Sep 01, 2022 13:11